February 6, 2017

Hello Everybody! 
How goes life? What’s new? How’s the weather?
I have been doing pretty good.😊 The work on this end has been slow. We are in the process of finding people right now. This is the hard part. This is where we knock doors and talk to people on the streets! For hours! I love it! I look at each person we see and I feel love for them. I see the struggle in their eyes and I know they are people who are searching for peace and truth. I talk to them and hope I can show them a little light. I have learned to love talking to people. I love to hear their stories! It’s like looking through a window into how they experience life.
We had Stake Conference this last Saturday and Sunday. Elder Stapleton of the Seventy presided. Many of the talks were about adversity. He gave a wonderful analogy about a clam. A little grain of sand get’s into his shell and he cannot remove it. So he says:”Since I cannot remove it, I shall try to improve it.” I love this! It is such a positive thing to take the bad and make it good. It is such a happy outlook instead of dwelling on all the negative in the world or in life. There was another talk about adversity where the speaker shared a poem. In the poem, there was a struggling person who asked God:”Why are you taking me through troubled waters?” The Lord answers kindly:”Because your enemies can’t swim.” We have trials so we can be strong enough for the next step God has planned for us, whether that be repentance or a new job. Trials are proof that God is there, and he loves us.
Just keep going and look to God. He will help you through anything. He is only a prayer away! 
Sister Tomkinson

Leave a Reply

